Banyana win big at the 2023 Momentum Gsport Awards

Banyana Banyana had a glorious night at the 2023 momentum gsport awards after walking away with several pieces of silverware at a function held in Sandton, Johannesburg, on Tuesday evening.

The awards, founded by media specialist Kass Naidoo, honour women in sport who are doing remarkable things and making a mark in what was once a male-dominated industry.

 Coach Desiree Ellis’ charges made history at recent 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup in Australia and New Zealand by becoming the first ever South African national team (men or women) to make it past the group stages of a FIFA tournament.

The South Africa senior women’s team clinched the award for the second consecutive year after previously winning it in 2022 following their Women’s Africa Cup of Nations (WAFCON) triumph in Morocco.

The team also took home the Ministerial award to make it two awards for the night. Ellis took home the coach of the year accolade, while goalkeeper Andile Dlamini won the Momentum athlete of the year. The Banyana Banyana coach praised her predecessors and said they paved the way for her.

“This is not for me, but for Banyana Banyana. This is for our amazing sponsor Sasol, the South African Football Association as well as the ones that came before us because without them this would not be possible,” said Ellis.

The coach further urged corporates to come on board to support women’s sport. Banyana Banyana’s long-time partners Sasol walked away with the sponsor of the year award. There was no shortage of Banyana Banyana representation at the awards function as besides Ellis, players Andile Dlamini and Nomvula Kgoale were also in attendance. 

The South African senior women’s team will assemble for camp in Johannesburg on Saturday, 16 September ahead of departure to the United States of America where the two sides will play their first matches since participating in the FIFA Women’s World Cup. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *